FIRST REHEARSAL- A Girl With Sun In Her Eyes

We’re about to start my absolutely favorite part of the entire rehearsal process- at least as an actor- the first rehearsal/ table read.

There’s always been something vaguely romantic to me about that first rehearsal- strangers meeting around a table, mug of freshly sharpened pencils in the middle, maybe some chocolate (hint hint), fresh binders, still warm script paper.

No one really knows what to say to each other. There’s a bit of sizing each other up. There’s always a few actors there who know each other really well.

I was never one of those.

I was the actor who sat in my chair, exciting to get started but mortified that these amazing people I was surrounded by would find me out- that I would be exposed as the completely self-conscious and border-line neurotic actor I was.

And then something magical happens. The actors start in on the script. The energy in the room starts to crackle. And as they get deeper and deeper into the page count- everything else melts away. Fear, anxiety, it all goes out the window. Everyone starts to find their rhythm.

And everyone is thankful. For the opportunity to be in a room full of people where judgment has no place- where you are free to create this amazing, wonderful world together.

And now I get to see that world from the other side of the table. I get to sit back and watch an amazing cast of giving, talented, fearless actors help to create the world I wrote about. The characters I put down on these bound pages get to spring to life. Get to walk. Get to love. Get to breathe.

Four weeks of rehearsal and “A Girl With Sun In Her Eyes” officially opens. And I could not be more excited.

Stay tuned.

http://www.pineboxtheater.org

~ by joshuarollins on May 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
